Home » Organizational Structure » Research Units »

Center for Island and Coastal Anthropology of the Asia-Pacific Region

Department brief info

Tel: +7-423-226-14-02
E-mail: email hidden; JavaScript is required
Address: Office № 2

Center for Insular and Coastal Anthropology of the Asia-Pacific Region was established as a structural unit of the Institute of History, Archaeology and Ethnography of the Peoples of the Far East on July 17, 2015. By chance, this event coincided with the unofficial day of Russian anthropologists – the anniversary of famous Russian ethnographer Nikolay Nikolayevich Miklukho-Maklay who devoted his life to studying the Papuans of New Guinea and other indigenous peoples of the “South Sea”.

The specific character of Vladivostok as a Russian city with considerable scientific potential by the Pacific Ocean has become an important factor for strengthening research efforts focused on the comparative study of history and culture of the insular communities of the Pacific Ocean.

The Center was created to stimulate fundamental and applied research in insular anthropology of the Asia-Pacific Region, to provide professional growth of young scientists and the development of interdisciplinary research.

The staff of the Center consists of five people: two anthropologists and three archaeologists. The Center has built a network of research contacts and scientific projects with different institutions of the Far East, the central part of Russia and foreign countries (for example, Pacific Geographical Institute, Far Eastern Marine Reserve, Russian State University for the Humanities, etc.). The subject of all researchers is an integrated study of insular and maritime adaptation, specific forms of material, intellectual culture and social organization of small-scale and medium-scale islands. The members of the Center regularly conduct field research of the archipelagoes of Peter the Great Bay, the Kuril Islands, the Commander Islands. Since 2016, the Center has organized interdisciplinary and cross-cultural research and practice seminars to analyze common factors and peculiarities of the long-term development of insular communities of the Pacific Ocean.

Staff

Fotoalbum

© Institute of history, archaeology and ethnography of the peoples of the far-east, far- eastern branch of the RAS, 2011-2015

Главная » Структура » Научные подразделения »

Центр островной и прибрежной антропологии Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона

Карточка подразделения

Телефон: +7-423-226-14-02
E-mail: email hidden; JavaScript is required
Адрес: Кабинет № 2

Центр островной и прибрежной антропологии Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона был образован как структурное подразделение Института истории 17 июля 2015 г. Случайно это событие совпало с неофициальным праздником российских антропологов – днём рождения известного русского этнографа Николая Николаевича Миклухо-Маклая, посвятившего свою жизнь изучению папуасов Новой Гвинеи и других народов «Южного моря».

Специфика Владивостока как российского города на берегу Тихого океана, обладающего значительным научным потенциалом – стала важной предпосылкой для активизации исследовательских усилий, направленных на сравнительное изучение истории и культуры островных обществ Тихого океана.

Центр создан в целях активизации фундаментальных и прикладных исследований в области островной антропологии АТР, обеспечения профессионального роста научной молодёжи и развития междисциплинарных исследований.

Сегодня в составе центра работают пять человек – два антрополога и три археолога. У него есть сеть устойчивых партнёрских связей в виде конкретных научных проектов с различными научными коллективами Дальнего Востока, центральной части России и зарубежья (например, Тихоокеанским институтом географии, Дальневосточным государственным морским заповедником, Российским государственным гуманитарным университетом и др.). Всех исследователей объединяет общая тематика – комплексное изучение островной и морской адаптации, специфических форм материальной, духовной культуры и социальной организации мелко и среднемасштабных островов. Сотрудниками центра на регулярной основе проводятся полевые исследования на архипелагах Залива Петра Великого, Курильских, Командорских островах. С 2016 г. центр организует междисциплинарные и кросс-культурные научно-практические семинары с целью анализа общих закономерностей и специфики долговременного развития островных обществ Тихого океана.

Список сотрудников

Материалы научных исследований

Фотогалерея

© Федеральное государственное бюджетное учреждение науки Институт истории, археологии и этнографии народов Дальнего Востока Дальневосточного отделения Российской академии наук, 2011-2015